RELEASE: Home of the Brave

Greater Spirit Games (me) has just made its first commercial product available for sale on DriveThruRPG. Home of the Brave is available for $1.99. It’s a humble 13-page game based around playing Presidential Candidates in the fictional Republic of Amera. You use cards and 1 ten-sided die in order to roleplay the day-to-day narrative of the campaign trail. Each News Cycle of a game will introduce its own Theme and Political Issue, and the candidates use their playing cards, the political parties they’ve chosen to be part of, and the issue and theme they’re tackling to make humorous political speeches and earn points. At the end of the game there is a final Presidential Debate after which the highest-scoring character wins the Presidency!

The game is licensed under Creative Commons BY-NC-ND so you can share it with your game group, but every copy helps support me and my future endeavors. Every little $1.99 counts at this point! In addition, buying through DTRPG will keep you up to the minute on any Errata I have to issue or content updates, delivered absolutely free with your purchase. So if you’ve ever wanted more of my whacky ideas in a small purchasable package, now’s your chance. May the 24-hour news cycle be with you!

Categories: Fluff/Inspiration, Funhaving, Humor, Meta, News, Other Hobby, Other Systems, Products, RPG | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “RELEASE: Home of the Brave

  1. This sounds hilariously delicious. I shall purchase it when I get home.

  2. Thanks! I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Roz

    I’m very excited about trying this out with some friends who might like this. I am glad I heard about it! Let you know how it goes.

  4. Thank you Roz! I hope you and your friends enjoy it!

  5. Roz

    Hey, just going through the rules and decided I would make a single “Cheat Sheet” for the flow of play and the purpose of the cards so I don’t have to go back and forth the first couple of times we play with new players. Mind if I post it and have it looked over to make sure I didn’t misunderstand some parts of the rules?

  6. Sure, go for it! I’ll be glad to give it a look.

  7. Roz

    Hello again.

    Here is a very rough outline of a variation we tried. Did we get the right idea about how the game should go?

    http://pastebin.com/4JkGhaEh

  8. Roz, your outline is pretty great, the only thing I noticed was that with Issue and Theme, in the game’s rules, the MM doesn’t award points for the content of the speeches, though that is a good houserule. I intended the base game’s scoring to occur based off only the cards played, so that there aren’t any disputes as to why a certain candidate got a point over another.

  9. Roz

    Okay – that house rule seemed to have snuck in organically with our gaming group and worked for the personalities we had. I’ll fix that and try it again with the new players I hope to introduce this to.

  10. It’s a cool rule and definitely works for a more relaxed atmosphere. You just have to be careful that people find the Mass Media’s judging to be fair. I originally wanted to include a rule like that, but you have to be careful with political stuff and adversarial play, it can get ugly! So I decided instead to make the score stricter.

  11. Roz

    That sounds very reasonable with those that might take the game a bit too….personal…sometimes. We were doing it in the style of “Whose Line is it Anyways”, so that house rule was really a way for the MM to be a part of it too. Libations may have directed some of our fun as well.

    Thanks for the feedback. I’ll correct the guide and clean it up. I’m meeting up with some friends at the end of the month who like party games and something like this might fit the bill with them. That is why I hope to give them a single sheet of paper with the summary on the front and example characters on the back and start into it without much explanation. And by extension, bugging you about your game. I’m sorry! :)

  12. Haha don’t be sorry, I’m quite pleased to be talking about it. I hope you and your friends enjoy your games!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 726 other followers

